Paul McCartney – Egypt Station cover artworkProducers: Paul McCartney, Greg Kurstin, Ryan Tedder

Released: 7 September 2018


Paul McCartney: vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, bass guitar, piano, harmonium, harpsichord, Wurlitzer, synthesisers, harmonica, ankle bells, Brennel guitar tape loops, bird recording, triangle, drums, percussion, bongos, congas, foot stomp, handclaps
Greg Kurstin: electric guitar, cello, clarinet, piano, Mellotron, harpsichord, Wurlitzer, synthesisers, sampler, vibes, bass fx, timpani, marimba, finger snaps, handclaps, percussion, drums and percussion programming
Ryan Tedder: vocals
Rob Millet: Cimbalom
Rusty Anderson: electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
Brian Ray: electric guitar, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, electric sitar, vocals
Abe Laboriel Jr.: drums, percussion, vocals, tack piano bass note
Paul ‘Wix’ Wickens: synthesiser, Hammond, Farfisa, Rhodes
Greg Phillinganes: Piano
Doug Moffet: soprano sax, tenor sax
Jim Hoke: baritone sax
Tom ‘Bones’ Malone: trumpet, tenor sax, bass trombone
Steve Herrman: trumpet
Charles Rose: trombone
Dan Higgins, Stuart Clark, Joshua Ranz, Philip O’Connor: clarinet
Ralph Williams: contrabass clarinet
James Hovorka, Kye Palmer, Miguel Guerrero, Steve Herrman, Tom ‘Bones’ Malone: trumpet
Doug Tornquist: tuba
Everton Nelson, David Angell, Alicia Enstrom, Caroline Campbell, Mario De Leon, Peter Kent, Songa Lee, Natalie Leggett, Robin Olson, Katia Popov, Michele Richards, Kathleen Sloan, Tereza Stanislav, Marcy Vaj, Josefina Vergara, Amy Wickman, John Wittenberg: violin
John Metcalfe, Bruce White, Betsy Lamb, Matt Funes, Darrin McCann, Andrew Duckles, Kate Reddish, Rob Brophy: viola
Ian Burdge, Paul Nelson, Vanessa Freebairn-Smith, Jodi Burnett, Richard Dodd, Rudy Stein, Tim Loo: cello
Gayle Levant Richards, Marcia Dickstein: Harp
Jack Jezzro: string bass
Pedro Eustache: King bansori indian flute, bamboo flute, dadook
Alex Pasco, Julian Burg, Matt Tuggle, Collin Kadlec: backing vocals, handclaps
Inara George, Roy Bennett, Caroline Le’gene: backing vocals
Ana Flávia Kazumi Sakamoto Fonzaghi, Mary Miwako Abe Takeda, Michelli Kaori Katayama Tamari, George Yuji Motoda, Luciana Mayumi Abe Yoshizaki, Irene Ueti Sakamoto, Jorge Kazuo Sakamoto, Felipe Yuiji Katayama, Eliana Shoyama, Afonso Mitsuo Sawada, Cíntia Sayuri Sawada, Nely Abe, Lucia Abe Okuda, Thiago Eiji Taromaru, Tetuji Taromaru, Rosa Seiko Sawada Abe, Nanci Hitomi Abe, Bobbi Page, Josh Bedlion, Joanna Bushnell, Amick Byram, Elin Carlson, Laura Dickinson, Monique Donnelly, Ally Feder, Jessica Freedman, Diane Freiman Reynolds, Katie Hampton, James Harper, Walt Harrah, Ayana Haviv, Jennifer Haydn-Jones, Katherine Hoye, Laura Jackman, Raven Kane, Monica Lee, Edie Lehmann Boddicker, Scott Mayo, Donna Medine, Ann Sheridan, Fletcher Sheridan, Susie Stevens, Suzanne Waters, Greg Whipple, Gerald White: choir


Egypt Station is the 17th solo album by Paul McCartney, and the follow-up to 2013’s New.

It was released by Capitol Records on 7 September 2018, on compact disc, standard 140g double vinyl, limited edition 180g deluxe double vinyl with deluxe packaging, and as a digital download.

There were also several limited edition coloured vinyl variants: a green vinyl double LP promoted to Spotify listeners, double red vinyl sold by Barnes and Noble in the US, and an orange and blue vinyl edition in a “concertina trifold 6 panel gatefold package”, sold on the McCartney store and affiliated sites.

A limited edition CD set with concertina-style packaging, sold in HMV in the UK and Target in the US, contained two extra tracks: ‘Get Started’ and ‘Nothing For Free’.

Egypt Station charted at number one on the US Billboard 200, becoming McCartney’s first chart-topper since 1982’s Tug of War.

Pre-release publicity

The album title was announced on 18 June 2018, McCartney’s 76th birthday. It followed a series of cryptic messages on McCartney’s social media accounts, beginning on 10 June 2018 with a doodle which appeared to show a pyramid or train track:

There were also six monochrome shots, of musical equipment or McCartney alone in a recording studio, leading to speculation that the new album title might be McCartney III.

On 17 June a train ticket image was posted, establishing the theme for the album’s artwork:

The first key clue to the title was an image of a torn ticket, which appeared to show the letters “…PT” and “…ON” along with some faint heirglyphics:

On the morning of 18 June, McCartney’s birthday, a new image was published which featured pyramids and palm trees, the clearest indication that the new release would have an Egypt theme.

The full title was revealed later in the day:

The first songs revealed from the album were ‘I Don’t Know’ and ‘Come On To Me’, released as a double a-side single on 20 June 2018.

The first tastes of Paul’s brand new studio album due out later this year on Capitol Records, the two A-sides are polar opposites: ‘I Don’t Know’ being a plaintive, soul-soothing ballad as only Paul can deliver, and ‘Come On To Me’ a raucous stomper that fans that first spark of chemistry into a rocking blaze.

Worldwide speculation about a new Paul McCartney album instantly reached fever pitch as his Instagram account whited out last week—only to ratchet higher as Paul was spotted taking selfies at landmarks in Liverpool the same day. The evening’s climactic event was a surprise gig at the tiny Liverpool Philharmonic Pub, during which ‘Come On To Me’ made its live debut alongside a set of classics spanning Paul’s career.

Paul’s new album is slated for fall 2018 release on Capitol Records. Further details will be announced shortly.

Press release for ‘I Don’t Know’ / ‘Come On To Me’

‘Come On To Me’ was the only new song performed at McCartney’s surprise show at Liverpool’s Philharmonic pub on 9 June. He also sang the song with James Corden during an episode of Carpool Karaoke filmed on the same day.