Yoko Ono requests a million tweets for John Lennon

Yoko Ono has asked users of the microblogging service Twitter to tweet a million birthday wishes for John Lennon today, the 70th anniversary of his birthday.

Lennon was born on 9 October 1940. Visit the Beatles Bible's tribute site.

Ono has asked people to sent messages to Imagine Peace Tower (@iptower). The tower is lit each year between 9 October and 8 December, and is situated on Viðey Island in Kollafjörður Bay near Reykjavík, Iceland. It will be lit tonight at 8pm GMT, with a live feed at www.imaginepeacetower.com.

The Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band will perform a concert this evening at Háskólabíó, Reykjavík. The event, which has sold out, will be dedicated to the memory of John Lennon.

Let’s tweet a million wishes for peace for John’s birthday, October 9th
On Fri 08 Oct 2010, in IMAGINE PEACE TOWER, Send a wish to the IP Tower, by admin
Dear Friends

On October 9th, I will relight IMAGINE PEACE TOWER in Iceland in memory of my late husband John Lennon.

Please ask all your friends to join us by Tweeting your wishes to IMAGINE PEACE TOWER.

You can do this by going to http://IMAGINEPEACETOWER.com where you can also watch the lighting live with us at
8pm GMT = 9pm UK = 3pm NY= midday LA = 5am Japan.

Tell all your friends. Spread the word. Let’s tweet a million wishes for peace for John’s birthday!

love,
yoko

Also on this day...

Want more? Visit the Beatles history section.

Leave a reply