• 🏠 Home
  • »
  • Press release
  • »
  • The Beatles’ White Album 50th anniversary box set to include remixes, demos and outtakes

The Beatles’ White Album 50th anniversary box set to include remixes, demos and outtakes

The Beatles are to reissue the White Album on 9 November 2018, with various new mixes and bonus tracks across a range of formats, including a super deluxe box set, triple CD set, and two vinyl editions.

The album, which is officially titled The Beatles, was originally released on 22 November 1968.

The Beatles' White Album – 2018 super deluxe box set with six CDs and Blu-ray

The box set will contain six CDs and an audio Blu-ray disc, a 164-page book, plus reproductions of the poster and portraits of the Beatles which came with the original release.

The first two discs will contain a new remix of the White Album by Giles Martin, son of Beatles producer George Martin.

The third disc will contain demos recorded in 1968 at Kinfauns, George Harrison’s bungalow in Esher, Surrey. These mainly acoustic recordings have been newly mixed from the original four-track tapes.

CDs four, five and six will contain 50 additional studio outtakes, mostly previously-unreleased, from the White Album sessions, mixed from the four-track and eight-track tapes and presented chronologically.

The outtakes will include rehearsals and versions of ‘Hey Jude’, Revolution, ‘The Inner Light’, ‘Across The Universe’, ‘Lady Madonna’, and various non-album jams and improvisations, and a hitherto undocumented 1968 recording of the song ‘Let It Be’.

It will also include take two of ‘Helter Skelter’, recorded on 18 July 1968, an edited version of which was included on Anthology 3. This will be a slightly longer edit, lasting for nine minutes, edited down from the full twelve. Sadly, take three of the song, which lasted 27:11 – the longest song ever recorded by The Beatles – will not be included.

The Blu-ray disc will contain the 2018 stereo remix of the album in high-resolution PCM stereo; a 2018 DTS-HD master audio 5.1 surround sound mix; a 2018 Dolby True HD 5.1 surround sound album mix; and a 2018 direct transfer of the original 1968 mono mix.

The box set’s book will contain an introduction by Paul McCartney, a track-by-track breakdown of the songs, plus photos, some previously unseen, from the recording sessions, the Mad Day Out, session tape boxes and more.

There will also be two vinyl editions and a triple CD version. One vinyl version will be a double-disc set of the album’s 2018 remix, while the other will be a four-disc set which will also contain the 27 Esher demos. The vinyl editions will be released on 23 November 2018.

The triple CD set will contain the 2018 stereo remix across two discs, and the Esher demos on the third.

Here’s the full breakdown of the six CDs in the box set:

CD 1: The BEATLES (‘White Album’) 2018 Stereo Mix

CD 2: The BEATLES (‘White Album’) 2018 Stereo Mix

CD 3: Esher Demos

CD 4: Outtakes (1)

  • Revolution 1 (Take 18)
  • ‘A Beginning’ (Take 4)/Don’t Pass Me By (Take 7)
  • Blackbird (Take 28)
  • Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  • Good Night (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  • Good Night (Take 10 with a guitar part from Take 5)
  • Good Night (Take 22)
  • Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da (Take 8)
  • Revolution (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  • Revolution (Take 14 – Instrumental backing track)
  • Cry Baby Cry (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  • Helter Skelter (First version – Take 2)

CD 5: Outtakes (2)

  • Sexy Sadie (Take 3)
  • While My Guitar Gently Weeps (Acoustic version – Take 2)
  • ‘Hey Jude’ (Take 1)
  • ‘St Louis Blues’ (Studio jam)
  • Not Guilty (Take 102)
  • Mother Nature’s Son (Take 15)
  • Yer Blues (Take 5 with guide vocal)
  • What’s The New Mary Jane (Take 1)
  • Rocky Raccoon (Take 8)
  • Back In The USSR (Take 5 – Instrumental backing track)
  • Dear Prudence (Vocal, guitar & drums)
  • ‘Let It Be’ (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  • While My Guitar Gently Weeps (Third version – Take 27)
  • (You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care (Studio jam)
  • Helter Skelter (Second version – Take 17)
  • Glass Onion (Take 10)

CD 6: Outtakes (3)

  • I Will (Take 13)
  • ‘Blue Moon’ (Studio jam)
  • I Will (Take 29)
  • ‘Step Inside Love’ (Studio jam)
  • ‘Los Paranoias’ (Studio jam)
  • ‘Can You Take Me Back?’ (Take 1)
  • Birthday (Take 2 – Instrumental backing track)
  • Piggies (Take 12 – Instrumental backing track)
  • Happiness Is A Warm Gun (Take 19)
  • Honey Pie (Instrumental backing track)
  • Savoy Truffle (Instrumental backing track)
  • Martha My Dear (Without brass and strings)
  • Long, Long, Long (Take 44)
  • I’m So Tired (Take 7)
  • I’m So Tired (Take 14)
  • The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill (Take 2)
  • Why Don’t We Do It In The road? (Take 5)
  • Julia (Two rehearsals)
  • ‘The Inner Light’ (Take 6 – Instrumental backing track)
  • ‘Lady Madonna’ (Take 2 – Piano and drums)
  • Lady Madonna (Backing vocals from take 3)
  • ‘Across The Universe’ (Take 6)

Last updated: 21 September 2021
Paul McCartney live: Bell Centre, Montreal
Ringo Starr and his All-Starr Band live: Humphreys Concerts By The Bay, San Diego
Also on this day...

Want more? Visit the Beatles history section.

Leave a Reply