• 🏠 Home
  • »
  • Release
  • »
  • US album release: Good Evening New York City by Paul McCartney

US album release: Good Evening New York City by Paul McCartney

Paul McCartney’s sixth solo live album, Good Evening New York City, was released in the United States on 17 November 2009, a month before its UK release.

The CD/DVD set was recorded at New York’s Citi Field stadium on 17, 18, and 21 July 2009. McCartney was the first musician to perform at the successor to Shea Stadium, where The Beatles gave two triumphant concerts in 1965 and 1966.

Good Evening New York City album artwork - Paul McCartney

Good Evening New York City was issued in three-disc and four-disc versions. The first was a standard edition containing two CDs and a DVD, whereas the deluxe version contained expanded packaging and a bonus DVD of McCartney’s 15 July 2009 performance on the Ed Sullivan Theater marquee, recorded for The Late Show with David Letterman.

The Citi Field performances of ‘Sing The Changes’, ‘Jet’, and ‘Band On The Run’ were also released as downloadable content for the Rock Band video game on 5 January 2010.

Good Evening New York City peaked at number 28 in the UK albums chart, and at 16 on the US Billboard 200. It was a top 10 hit in Norway, but failed to chart highly elsewhere.

At the 53rd Grammy Awards, held at the Staples Center in Los Angeles on 13 February 2011, the recording of ‘Helter Skelter’ from the album won in the category of Best Solo Rock Vocal Performance.

Last updated: 6 June 2023
Paul McCartney awarded the third Gershwin Prize for Popular Song
Nowhere Boy soundtrack details revealed
Also on this day...

Want more? Visit the Beatles history section.

Leave a Reply