US album release: Beatles ’65

Beatles ’65, The Beatles’ fifth album on Capitol Records, included the majority of songs from Beatles For Sale, and added ‘I’ll Be Back’, ‘She’s A Woman’, and ‘I Feel Fine’.

Of the Beatles For Sale songs, it left out ‘Eight Days A Week’, ‘Words Of Love’, ‘Every Little Thing’, ‘I Don’t Want To Spoil The Party’, ‘What You’re Doing’, and ‘Kansas City/Hey-Hey-Hey-Hey!’. Those songs were included on the June 1965 album Beatles VI.

Beatles '65 album artwork – USA

Beatles ’65 was released as Capitol T-2228 (mono) and Capitol ST-2228 (stereo). The tracklisting was:

‘No Reply’
‘I’m A Loser’
‘Baby’s In Black’
‘Rock And Roll Music’
‘I’ll Follow The Sun’
‘Mr Moonlight’

‘Honey Don’t’
‘I’ll Be Back’
‘She’s A Woman’
‘I Feel Fine’
‘Everybody’s Trying To Be My Baby’

The album was a huge commercial success, jumping from number 98 to the top spot on the Billboard album chart, which was the highest leap to the number one position in the chart’s history.

Last updated: 3 November 2020
Ringo Starr leaves hospital
George Harrison and Pattie Boyd return from the Bahamas
Also on this day...

Want more? Visit the Beatles history section.

Latest Comments

  1. kenlacouture Wednesday 17 December 2014
    • Mark Miller Monday 12 October 2015
  2. Alan Schwarz Tuesday 11 June 2019
  3. Alan Schwarz Tuesday 11 June 2019

Leave a Reply