Artwork for Paul McCartney’s 2013 album NewWritten by: McCartney
Recorded: 2013
Producer: Mark Ronson
Additional production: Giles Martin
Mixed by: Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Released: 29 August 2013

Available on:


Paul McCartney: vocals, bass guitar, harpsichord, piano, Mellotron, Wurlitzer organ, congas, maracas, bouzouki
Rusty Anderson: backing vocals, guitar, bouzouki
Brian Ray: backing vocals, guitar
Abe Laboriel Jnr: backing vocals, drums
Paul ‘Wix’ Wickens: backing vocals
Steve Sidwell: trumpet
Jamie Talbot: tenor saxophone
Dave Bishop: baritone saxophone

‘New’ is the title track and sixth song on Paul McCartney’s 16th solo studio album.

The album New was announced on 29 August 2013, and the title track went on sale on the same day. It was posted by McCartney on YouTube and SoundCloud, and made available for download on iTunes.

The title track ‘New’ was the first song to be revealed. It was produced by Mark Ronson, one of two tracks he worked on on the album; the other was ‘Alligator’.

‘New’ was posted on the morning of 29 August on YouTube, and made available on SoundCloud and iTunes.

An acoustic version, recorded with just guitar and vocals backstage before McCartney’s show in Regina, Canada, was posted on YouTube on 11 September: