Ringo Starr - Y Not album artworkRecorded: 2009
Producers: Ringo Starr, Bruce Sugar

Released: 12 January 2010


Ringo Starr: vocals, drums, guitar, piano, keyboards, percussion
Steve Dudas, David A Stewart, Billy Squier: guitar
Joe Walsh: guitar, bass guitar, vocals
Keith Allison: guitar, vocals
Benmont Tench: piano, Hammond organ
Michael Bradford: bass guitar
Paul McCartney: bass guitar, vocals
Don Was: bass guitar, upright bass
Bruce Sugar: keyboards
Edgar Winter: horns, saxophone, vocals
Ann Marie Calhoun: violin
Tina Sugandh: tabla, chanting
Joss Stone, Ben Harper, Richard Marx, Cindy Gomez: vocals


‘Fill In The Blanks’
‘Peace Dream’
‘The Other Side Of Liverpool’
‘Walk With You’
‘Everyone Wins’
‘Mystery Of The Night’
‘Can’t Do It Wrong’
‘Y Not’
‘Who’s Your Daddy’

Y Not is Ringo Starr’s sixteenth solo studio album.

Unlike its predecessor Liverpool 8, Y Not featured a range of collaborators, which included Paul McCartney, Joe Walsh, Don Was, Edgar Winter, Joss Stone, and Richard Marx.

McCartney played bass guitar on ‘Peace Dream’, and duetted with Starr on ‘Walk With You’. The closing song, ‘Who’s Your Daddy’, was a duet between Starr and Stone.

The album was recorded at Rocca Bella, Starr’s studios in England and Los Angeles.

The release

Y Not was released worldwide on 12 January 2010.

The album charted at number 58 on the US Billboard 200, selling 7,965 copies in its first week. It did not chart in the UK.

In the first month Y Not sold over 30,000 copies worldwide.