Choba B CCCP (Russian Album) artwork: Paul MccartneyWritten by: Price
Recorded: 20 July 1987
Producer: Paul McCartney

Released: 31 October 1988 (USSR), 30 September 1991 (UK), 29 October 1991 (US)

Available on:
Choba B CCCP


Paul McCartney: vocals, bass guitar
Mick Green: guitar
Mick Gallagher: piano, keyboards
Chris Whitten: drums

Paul McCartney recorded a version of Lloyd Price’s ‘Lawdy Miss Clawdy’ for his 1988 album Choba B CCCP.

The song was first recorded by Price in 1952, with Fats Domino on piano. It topped the Billboard R&B chart for seven weeks in the USA, becoming one of the year’s biggest sellers.

McCartney’s version was taped on 20 July 1987, the first of two consecutive days of recording for Choba B CCCP.

Twelve songs are known to have been recorded at the session: ‘Kansas City’, ‘Twenty Flight Rock’, ‘Lawdy Miss Clawdy’, ‘I’m In Love Again’, ‘Bring It On Home To Me’, ‘Lucille’, ‘I’m Gonna Be A Wheel Someday’, ‘That’s All Right (Mama)’, ‘Summertime’, ‘Just Because’, ‘Midnight Special’, and ‘It’s Now Or Never’.

McCartney’s solo recording of ‘Lawdy Miss Clawdy’ was, along with ‘Kansas City’, ‘Don’t Get Around Much Anymore’, and ‘Midnight Special’, one of several golden oldies released on the ‘Once Upon A Long Ago’ 12″ and CD singles in 1987.

It was the third song on the Choba B CCCP album, which was released in the Soviet Union in 1988, and worldwide three years later.