Please consider registering
Guest
sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register
Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope


Match



Forum Options



Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Books similar to Beatleness
2 October 2016
9.51pm
Avatar
sgtpepper63
On a boat on a river with tangering trees and marmalade skies
Carnegie Hall
Guests
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
18 May 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I've heard about this book called Beatleness by Candy Leonard and have actually read some of it and although it's a decent read, I'd like to see if there is a book that's similar and with the same concept for a few reasons:

1. She only considers people born from 1945 to 1961 1st gen fans, which although is her opinion and I do respect it, it leaves out 1st gen fans who were born before 1945, as well as people who were born after 1961 but are old enough to remember The Beatles still being around (although to be fair, I wouldn't be surprised if a couple of people born from 1962-1964 claimed they were born in 1961 or people born before 1945 claim they were born in 1945, as she used Survey Monkey to get her results)

And most importantly...

2. It'd be great to see it from another person's perspective and in a way more professional than Survey Monkey (although just because you used an online survey site doesn't mean your book is bad)

Also...

I wonder if there's something like this for other bands, such as AC/DC or Queen, as the concept of 1st gen fans talking about their experiences is interesting and fun to read, especially all at once.

The following people thank sgtpepper63 for this post:

RobGeurtsen
3 October 2016
6.13am
Avatar
Starr Shine?
Waiting in the sky
Apple rooftop
Members
Forum Posts: 15584
Member Since:
1 November 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

You could write one that includes yourself.

Shout mentioned generations. But I couldn't find a whole book about the subject. Some other online places mention generations.

https://youtu.be/52nwiTs7bk8

Brainwashed by RadiantCowbells.

If you can't log in and can't use the forum go here and someone will help you out.

3 October 2016
4.27pm
Avatar
CandyLeonard
A Beginning
Members
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
3 October 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi - 

Beatleness was based on in-depth interviews with fans - hours and hours of interviews. The survey monkey link I posted recently is for a follow up book. Here's the link if you would like to participate and be in my next book. Thanks!  

3 October 2016
8.59pm
Avatar
Starr Shine?
Waiting in the sky
Apple rooftop
Members
Forum Posts: 15584
Member Since:
1 November 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Don't see a link.

The following people thank Starr Shine? for this post:

William Shears Campbell

https://youtu.be/52nwiTs7bk8

Brainwashed by RadiantCowbells.

If you can't log in and can't use the forum go here and someone will help you out.

3 October 2016
10.40pm
Avatar
Expert Textpert
In bed.
Rishikesh
Members
Forum Posts: 4441
Member Since:
18 April 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi, Candy. I loved your book. I've referenced it on here several times. It's caused a few debates because it seems a few people want to consider themselves first generation fans even if they're not.

The following people thank Expert Textpert for this post:

CandyLeonard

"This Beatles talk bores me to death.” —John Lennon 

4 October 2016
9.46am
Avatar
CandyLeonard
A Beginning
Members
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
3 October 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks! Always nice to get feedback from readers.  Here's the link to survey at survey monkey.  It's for my next project, which will also focus on pop music, baby boomers, and American history. https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/27DZHKJ

The following people thank CandyLeonard for this post:

RobGeurtsen
4 October 2016
9.49am
Avatar
CandyLeonard
A Beginning
Members
Forum Posts: 4
Member Since:
3 October 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Here's the link to my survey at Survey Monkey. I'm looking for people born between 1946 and 1961 and grew up in the US, for my followup to Beatleness. https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/27DZHKJ

4 October 2016
7.58pm
Avatar
sgtpepper63
On a boat on a river with tangering trees and marmalade skies
Carnegie Hall
Guests
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
18 May 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

CandyLeonard said
Here's the link to my survey at Survey Monkey. I'm looking for people born between 1946 and 1961 and grew up in the US, for my followup to Beatleness. https://www.surveymonkey.com/r.....7DZHKJ  

Great to meet you, Candy, I sure wasn't expecting you to make an account for this reason, but that sure isn't a bad thing. Since you're here, I was wondering why you use the 1945-1961 guideline for 1st gen fans. I understand you have to draw the line somewhere, but why there.

5 October 2016
3.04am
Avatar
Ahhh Girl
sailing on a winedark open sea
Moderator

Moderators

Members

Reviewers
Forum Posts: 18521
Member Since:
20 August 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

@CandyLeonard, for context, here is the conversation we have had on what the definition of a 1st generation fan. https://www.beatlesbible.com/f.....atles-fan/

5 October 2016
6.24am
Avatar
Starr Shine?
Waiting in the sky
Apple rooftop
Members
Forum Posts: 15584
Member Since:
1 November 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Also it continued on in this thread
https://www.beatlesbible.com/f.....ation-fan/

https://youtu.be/52nwiTs7bk8

Brainwashed by RadiantCowbells.

If you can't log in and can't use the forum go here and someone will help you out.

5 October 2016
8.10am
Avatar
Expert Textpert
In bed.
Rishikesh
Members
Forum Posts: 4441
Member Since:
18 April 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

paul-mccartney-facepalm_gif

If I were Candy I'm not sure I would want to join the forum and immediately get dragged into an argument about my own book. 

The following people thank Expert Textpert for this post:

pepperland

"This Beatles talk bores me to death.” —John Lennon 

5 October 2016
8.17am
Avatar
Starr Shine?
Waiting in the sky
Apple rooftop
Members
Forum Posts: 15584
Member Since:
1 November 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

At least it shows that her book made an impact and got people thinking. Better than her book being ignored after one post about it.

https://youtu.be/52nwiTs7bk8

Brainwashed by RadiantCowbells.

If you can't log in and can't use the forum go here and someone will help you out.

5 October 2016
9.05am
Avatar
meanmistermustard
Here when I am. Not when I am not.
Moderator
Members

Reviewers


Moderators
Forum Posts: 22292
Member Since:
1 May 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Expert Textpert said
paul-mccartney-facepalm_gif

If I were Candy I'm not sure I would want to join the forum and immediately get dragged into an argument about my own book.   

Candy doesn't need to get dragged into an argument; she can choose to read the views and not comment or not bother and read something else. No harm in providing the links.

Everyone has choice
When to and not to raise their voices

"I told you everything I could about me, Told you everything I could" ('Before Believing' - Emmylou Harris) 

"Don't make your love suffer insecurities; Trade the baggage of self to set another one free" ('Paper Skin' - Kendall Payne)

5 October 2016
1.52pm
Avatar
sgtpepper63
On a boat on a river with tangering trees and marmalade skies
Carnegie Hall
Guests
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
18 May 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Expert Textpert said
paul-mccartney-facepalm_gif

If I were Candy I'm not sure I would want to join the forum and immediately get dragged into an argument about my own book.   

I would say it's more of a discussion than an argument. An argument involves insulting, whereas a discussion involves people discussing and sometimes disagreeing with the said subject matter. I'm sure Candy isn't pissed off just because some of us disagree with her book. If anything, she could be glad were acknowledging her book and may even want our opinion on the book and might want to hear about what we think are flaws with the book.

5 October 2016
2.09pm
Avatar
Expert Textpert
In bed.
Rishikesh
Members
Forum Posts: 4441
Member Since:
18 April 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I'm not going to name names, but a search of this forum will indicate that her book has been referred to as "bullshit" and that she was "spouting garbage." It just goes to show that you should always be polite, since you don't know who is paying attention.

"This Beatles talk bores me to death.” —John Lennon 

5 October 2016
2.28pm
Avatar
sgtpepper63
On a boat on a river with tangering trees and marmalade skies
Carnegie Hall
Guests
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
18 May 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Expert Textpert said
I'm not going to name names, but a search of this forum will indicate that her book has been referred to as "bullshit" and that she was "spouting garbage." It just goes to show that you should always be polite, since you don't know who is paying attention.  

I'm pretty sure that person was just trying to explain their opinion and just said it the wrong way, sometimes people make mistakes and say stuff the wrong way, remember "more popular than Jesus".

The following people thank sgtpepper63 for this post:

Expert Textpert, RobGeurtsen
5 October 2016
2.30pm
Avatar
meanmistermustard
Here when I am. Not when I am not.
Moderator
Members

Reviewers


Moderators
Forum Posts: 22292
Member Since:
1 May 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Expert Textpert said
I'm not going to name names, but a search of this forum will indicate that her book has been referred to as "bullshit" and that she was "spouting garbage." It just goes to show that you should always be polite, since you don't know who is paying attention.  

We probably should be more polite to everyone but its a public forum where people express real opinions on releases and that shouldn't be curtailed. It's important to remember that many reviews of the book are never personal, they are a difference of opinion. The issues begin when it becomes personally insulting tho it's a very fine line to get the balance however and I will be one who no doubt often blurs the lines.

God help me if someone from Apple comes online.

Grandfathered hi wave waving john stamosImage Enlarger

Edit

Ok. Considering the above post I'm not going to be hypocrite or hide. I wrote back in the times before

I listened to a podcast with the author and turned it off before 5 minutes was up. Total garbage was being spouted.

The podcast was 'Fab4Free4All' and I stand-by what I posted but unless I go back and listen to the podcast again I can't remember why I thought that. I reserve the right to disagree, Candy has the right to think I'm a complete idiot who knows nothing, we all have our rights.

The following people thank meanmistermustard for this post:

sgtpepper63, Expert Textpert

"I told you everything I could about me, Told you everything I could" ('Before Believing' - Emmylou Harris) 

"Don't make your love suffer insecurities; Trade the baggage of self to set another one free" ('Paper Skin' - Kendall Payne)

5 October 2016
2.44pm
Avatar
Expert Textpert
In bed.
Rishikesh
Members
Forum Posts: 4441
Member Since:
18 April 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

It's all good.

"This Beatles talk bores me to death.” —John Lennon 

5 October 2016
2.46pm
Avatar
meanmistermustard
Here when I am. Not when I am not.
Moderator
Members

Reviewers


Moderators
Forum Posts: 22292
Member Since:
1 May 2011
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Expert Textpert said
It's all good.  

Indeed.

Personally I never mean offence and if ever anyone takes any from what I post I apologise profusely and unreservedly.

"I told you everything I could about me, Told you everything I could" ('Before Believing' - Emmylou Harris) 

"Don't make your love suffer insecurities; Trade the baggage of self to set another one free" ('Paper Skin' - Kendall Payne)

10 October 2016
9.50am
Avatar
sgtpepper63
On a boat on a river with tangering trees and marmalade skies
Carnegie Hall
Guests
Forum Posts: 551
Member Since:
18 May 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I wonder what happened to Candy, it seems like she made an account just to post a review of Eight Days A Week and a link to her survey that I am too young to fill out, and then she just left. I hope none of our comments negatively affected her.

Forum Timezone: America/Chicago
Most Users Ever Online: 700
Currently Online: Richard
1
Guest(s)
Top Posters:
Starr Shine?: 15584
Ron Nasty: 9852
Necko: 7858
50yearslate: 7700
parlance: 7111
AppleScruffJunior: 6443
mr. Sun king coming together: 6403
Mr. Kite: 6147
trcanberra: 6063
mithveaen: 4621
Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 87
Members: 2728
Moderators: 6
Admins: 2
Forum Stats:
Groups: 3
Forums: 44
Topics: 4783
Posts: 330418
Newest Members:
Nowhere Girl_1, guruwalrus, navim10762, AndyI, CocasTheFrog
Moderators: Joe: 5071, Zig: 9807, meanmistermustard: 22292, Ahhh Girl: 18521, Beatlebug: 15432, The Hole Got Fixed: 7062
Administrators: Joe: 5071, Ellie: 4