UK album release: Wonderwall Music by George Harrison

The first Beatles solo album, George Harrison’s Wonderwall Music, was released on this day in the United Kingdom.

Wonderwall Music album artwork – George HarrisonThe album was credited to George Harrison & Band/Indian Orchestra, and was written and produced by Harrison. Wonderwall Music was the first long player released by Apple Records, and the catalogue number was SAPCOR 1.

The tracklisting was:

  • ‘Microbes’
  • ‘Red Lady Too’
  • ‘Tabla And Pakavaj’
  • ‘In The Park’
  • ‘Drilling A Home’
  • ‘Guru Vandana’
  • ‘Greasy Legs’
  • ‘Ski-ing’
  • ‘Gat Kirwani’
  • ‘Dream Scene’
  • ‘Party Seacombe’
  • ‘Love Scene’
  • ‘Crying’
  • ‘Cowboy Music’
  • ‘Fantasy Sequins’
  • ‘On The Bed’
  • ‘Glass Box’
  • ‘Wonderwall To Be Here’
  • ‘Singing Om’

The tracks, recorded in England in December 1967 and in Bombay, India in January 1968, were virtually all instrumentals. Among the musicians taking part were Ringo Starr and Eric Clapton, although both used pseudonyms – Richie Snare and Eddie Clayton respectively.

Wonderwall Music failed to chart in the UK, although it reached number 49 in the US in early 1969.

Last updated: 5 October 2021
George Harrison produces Is This What You Want? by Jackie Lomax
George Harrison produces Is This What You Want? by Jackie Lomax
Also on this day...

Want more? Visit the Beatles history section.

Latest Comments

  1. Bill Thursday 1 November 2018
    • Ms. Lane Friday 1 November 2019

Leave a Reply